Eleanors Death

Eleanors Death

Act 1, Scene 2 from book 1 – The Diaries of James Purcell, Copyright Adam Bryant 2012

Like giddy children we came out of the theatre after enjoying a wonderful show. A few days ago I had finally built up the courage to ask Professor Isaac Theologen, my mentor and father of the girl, for permission to marry. He had said nothing for nearly a quarter of an hour as he sat at his studies desk giving me a stern look. Eventually the corner of his mouth raised in a smile. “I wondered when you would ask me.” He had said before giving me his permission.

As an engagement present, he had arranged for theatre tickets and dinner in a restaurant afterwords. His work with the university had prevented him from seeing the show himself and so we would be meeting him for the meal.

So wrapped up were we with our enjoyment of the show, that we did not see a huge person waiting near the entrance of the alley we were about to pass. It wasn’t until Eleanor was grabbed and dragged backwards into the dark. I looked up and down the road looking for a police officer but was interrupted by a deep voice.

“Get in here without raising any noise.” The man holding Eleanor ordered. I cast a last look around and stepped into the gloom after them.

“What do you want from us?” I asked, my voice shaking with fear.

“You?” He said with a chuckle. “Nothing. You are going to stand there and watch me kill you beautiful fiancee.”

“Why?” I asked.

The man steeped closer. Light from a passing car entered the ally reflecting off it’s eyes and I froze, this was no man that stood in front of me. In my studies I had come across descriptions of its kind and only one word escaped my lips, causing him to smile. “Lycanthrope.”

“Ahh, I see you recognise my kind then.” He said with a malicious smile.

“Why are you doing this?”I asked.

He smiled at me then licked the side of Eleanor’s face, causing her to faint. “This girl of your’s smells good enough to eat. I am feeling hungry so I may just start on her.” He said baring his teeth and drooling on her shoulder.

“But why us?” I asked, trying to look for something to use as a weapon.

His smile faded and his eye’s narrowed on me, He stood there silently watching me. My fingers grasped at something cold and round and I hoped this would do. I lifted up the object and watched as he smiled.

“So you actually want to fight me.” The werewolf taunted.

I watched as it lifted Eleanor by the neck, and run a sharp claw down her face cutting her skin just enough to make a pearlescent, crimson line of blood appear.

“Let her go.” I said in a shaky voice, while brandishing the piece of metal bar like a sword fighter I had seen in a book.

“You think you can stop me with that?” The werewolf said, amusement all over its face.

I tightened my grip on my weapon and edged forward.

“Are you sure you want to do that?” He asked lifting Eleanor up by her head.

“Put her down.” I repeated.

He grinned at me and ripped open her dress around the shoulder area. I watched in horror as he slowly licked her skin causing her to wake up. Her eyes were filled with horror, I did not know what to do, I pushed y fear about what would happen to my self and ran at the lycanthrope and swung the pole. His arm swung out and hit me in the chest knocking the air out of me, and sending me flying across the alley to smash into a wall, There was a sicking crunch and and pain in my chest that caused me to double over, my eye sight blurred and tears welled up and I fought to get a breath back into my lungs. I could hear him laughing and the cry’s of Eleanor’s muffled screams. I reached out and hand and managed to pull myself to my feet, feeling pain in other parts of my body, time seamed to slow down as he lifted her higher, opened his jaws and bit down on her shoulder. I felt frozen, my legs wouldn’t respond, all I could do was stand there and watch and his teeth sunk deeper into her flesh causing more of her pearlescent crimson blood to spill down her chest.

Eleanor’s screams were reduced to a whimper before finally dying out, he one blue dress now, ran scarlet with her blood and all colour disappeared from her face as her skin paled. Still I stood there frozen to the spot, unable to stop the atrocity happening in front of me and with a sicking soggy ripping sound, the werewolf ripped a chunk out of her flesh.

“Ahh, such a superb taste, quite exquisite specimen.” It said letting her fall to the floor and into the puddle of her own blood that had pooled below her.

“What are you going to do now?” I asked, finally able to speak.

“Nothing. I have now done what I came to do, so I will now bid you farewell.”

With a bow, he turned and left me alone with the body of my fiancée.

Leave a Reply

