Colt Navy 1851 Steampunk Prop.

Colt Navy 1851 Steampunk Prop.

 

When Idea’s for my book lag I start working on making things. My latest project is a Colt Navy 1851 which I am building out of acrylic and wood. It won’t be a perfect clone as it will get a Steampunk treatment to it.

Acrylic Colt Navy parts.

This shows a few of the rough parts placed together.

I still have polishing, engraving and staining to do on the grip and find two identical gears to place in the grip. The barrel still needs trimming, shaping and drilling to finish.

Today’s project on the Colt Navy was the centre section of gun.

This image shows the trigger guard added to the centre (would receiver still be technically correct for a gun like this). I’m not sure if my plans are abit under scale or the soldiers of that time had small fingers, but I can only just get the finger into it!

The finished gun will have some special decoration to match the gun carried by Captain James Purcell in my books, The Diaries of James Purcell. Still a long way to go but once it’s finished I will start work on a proper mechanically (but non firing) version.

It’s now raining so I can’t do any more on it today and I need to send the barrel away to be drilled (I have no Idea how to get a 10mm diameter hole squarely down a 190mm barrel!) but on closing.

How on earth did they do these things without power tools, I have no idea how they managed it!.

Well that’s all from today’s Diary of James Purcell. See you in port next time, Airship Pilots.

Leave a Reply

