Over use of Situated and situation!

Over use of Situated and situation!

I do not know if it is just me, but of late I have seen too much use of the words situated and situation.
I find these words bland and boring, lacking any taste and feeling and far to military, but they are used far too often and in the wrong taste.

I have been reading alot of fantasy and Steampunk of late and I find that these words just do not find in with the feel of these books. No matter if its a person an item or a place, these words are used.

For people writers should be using something like.

She nestled down between her friends for warmth.

For item’s, something like

The Building had be constructed in the middle of two joining streets.

For places

The city grew to span the valley between the hills that marked the separation of the counties.

The above have far more feeling to them and fit in more with such historical/fantastical scenes.

Disclamor : This is not the only word that has been over used but it is the one that causes me to trip over a story line more then grammar and spelling faults!

This sounds like a rant and it truth it is but I need to say it and get it off my chest. Please fellow authors, stop over using such bland words and please be more creative.

Time for me to sign off now as I still have planning work for NaNoWriMo to go.

Leave a Reply

