A Scottish Musket

A Scottish Musket

HDRtist HDR - http://www.ohanaware.com/hdrtist/

While up in Scotland I paid a visit to Edinburgh Castle on the day they had a weapon handling display. The man doing the display was handling a Flintlock musket and I managed to get my hand upon it. While longer then I am high I was quite surprised by it weight of lack off.

While I don’t have any pictures of it as because my travelling companion walked off to look else ware, It did prove very revealing, the whole weight of it was less then tat of a medium size fire extinguisher and without true information (the gentleman never having been asked) I would place it under nine kilograms but above five kilograms. This may seam lot alot to some but considering its size, is a surprise.

As much as I would have like to handle the other weapons (especially The Scottish long swords in my attached photo), time was not on my side and I had to move on. There is alot for the history fans up in Scotland to view if you have a car or time for public transport. I hope to go back up and see more at some point when money is not so tight.

Right then, I’m off to chew on some haggis. See you in port next time Airship Pilots.

Leave a Reply

