Random thoughts from the troubled mind of James Purcell.

Random thoughts from the troubled mind of James Purcell.

Even in the warm air that had been trapped by the thick canopy above me, I felt cold. Ever since I had woken up on that ship of strangers, I have yet to know what being warm felt like. Curled up in the hollow between the tree roots wrapped in a blanket and travel cloak I feel cold. I should light a fire, but I don’t want to be seen. All I want is to be alone and get some sleep. How long has it been since I could calm down and let sleep overtake me? I don’t remember, the ever-growing need for revenge pushes me on.

I pulled the hood of my linen robe up over my head followed by the hood of my travel cloak, Pulled my knees into my chest and laid my chin on them, closing my eyes. Even though the forest was full of animals, there was one noise out of place. Someone was trying to creep up on me, someone who made a living being quite. To be honest I was feed up of everything, I didn’t care if he was here to kill me. I just wanted to be alone. The blood coated sword leaned against the tree next to me and I made no move to grab it, I just sat there and waited.

There was a smell in the air, the smallest hint of a scent, a scent I knew. If I had been human, I never would have recognised it, but I was more and the smell was too familiar. The iron tang of blood filled my sense’s and my inner wolf cried out, but I held it back with much effort. The owner of the blood I knew and I knew why he was bleeding.

“Would you mind if I share you clearing?” came the voice of a man I knew.

“Not my country.” I growled back.

The man laid his pack and weapons down against a tree and started making a fire. “You look cold.” He said looking at me, he struck a spark and the pile of twigs and dry leaves caught on fire. Slowly he built up the fire and before long the clearing was bathed in the orange glow cast by the flames.

3 comments on “Random thoughts from the troubled mind of James Purcell.

  1. Desiree B says:

    I like this. Are you going to flesh it out more in the future? I think it has a lot of potential.

Leave a Reply

