5 things I hate about being an indie author

Suffolk Scribblings

Writers block Image by nate at https://www.flickr.com/photos/okaycity/ licensed under creative commons.

Think indie publishing is all flowers and glitter? Think again. Here are the top 5 things I hate about indie publishing*:

*warning: there may be satire ahead

1 Up to the minute stats

They say ignorance is bliss, and in this case ‘they’ are right. How am I meant to be able to concentrate when the lure of the KDP stats screen is there to feed the procrastination monster. How I yearn for being in the dark about my sales, not knowing how my book’s performing until I receive my monthly / quarterly / annual statement. How much easier it would be to sit down and work on my manuscript without the stats screen singing my name, beckoning me to take just one look to see if anyone has bought in the last hour.

2 I’m forced to write exactly what I want

Part of the…

View original post 566 more words

One comment on “5 things I hate about being an indie author

  1. Lily Lau says:

    Being an indie author can be harder than a mainstream one!

Leave a Reply

