Long road to the Paperback.

First ten hard copys of my book.

First ten hard copies of my book.

It has been a long road of nearly three years from when I started writing to seeing my first book in print filled with pain anger and stress and helps from lots of friends and readers.

I started making my notes o pocket note books based on a random idea that popped into my head. Once the first draft was scribbled, I moved to copying it into the pc. The default program on OSX is pages however, at the time, pages was buggy and broken. The only reason I kept going was because it worked on both the ipad and the macbookpro.

10256414_10203984743605245_7753647277698677126_n

However once I had the first draft written up and submitted to test readers I discovered a problem,

“What happen before this?” they asked.

“I had a rough idea but it was basically just “fluff” or background notes along with a short story. I sat down read through everything a thought the originally story may be interesting so a spoke to the test readers, pitched an idea and they loved it.
Out came pages and the first draft was finished and spread out. All feedback was positive so on it went to editing and then formatting and this was where the first snag was hit. As I mentioned earlier, pages was broken at this time and the outputted formats were all faulty, I had at this time just finished NaNoWriMo and had purchased a copy of Scrivnr on discount. I imported it into and tried again (the result in on Amazon) how ever that still has faults. I have made a third version using html which has an active table of contents or ncx. but hasn’t been uploaded due to editing problems with the second half of the story.

I took the completed manuscript which contained only the core first story, edited that again and turned it into the manuscript for the first book. After a few issues with book formatting and graphics formatting (a bug still not solved) The finial paperback was produced and published through Amazons Createspace publishing house.

I’m still not happy with the output from there, but will wait until the next one is finished and try another house that offers the smaller “pocket book” size that I really wanted.

What you see in the first photo is the first ten books that will be signed and sent off to the first lucky ten people as thank you’s.

So after all this work how do I feel?
To say I have a smile on my face is an understatement. I left school with less then Stella grades and didn’t think I would do anything in life. I now have both a E and Tree book publish and have people who have read and enjoyed it (and are asking for the next). I apologies to all that it missed its deadline, but its on its way (when I stop procrastinating) once I finish the fifth rewrite.

Until next time,
See you in port next time Airship Captains.

Leave a Reply

